International Conference on Accountability and International Business Operations
Call for Papers

19-05-2017 tot 20-05-2017

Conference set-up 

The adverse effects of multinational corporations' business activities, especially on human rights, labor rights and the environment in the host country of investment, have been well documented. A consensus has also emerged that corporations have social and environmental responsibilities when operating transnationally. However, how exactly corporations can be held legally accountable for their transgressions, if at all, is less clear. This conference inquires how regulatory tools stemming from international law, public law, and private law may or may not be used for transnational corporate accountability purposes. Attention will be devoted to applicable standards of liability, institutional and jurisdictional issues, as well as practical challenges, with a focus on ways to improve the existing legal status quo. In addition, there will be consideration of the extent to which non-legal regulatory instruments may complement or provide (more viable?) alternatives to these legal mechanisms. The conference combines legal-doctrinal approaches with interdisciplinary and policy insights.

(U)Call for Papers

The Utrecht Centre for Accountability and Liability Law (UCALL) welcomes abstracts from both senior and junior researchers for this international conference. Abstracts of maximum 500 words should be sent to by 1 November 2016. Please indicate the relevant panel (an overview of the three panels can be found here). The conference organizers will communicate their decision by 15 November 2016. Papers counting between 7,000 and 10,000 words (including footnotes) should subsequently be submitted by 1 May 2017. Accepted papers will normally appear in a special journal issue.  


The conference is organized by a team of researchers from the Utrecht Centre for Accountability and Liability Law: Prof. Ivo Giesen (private law), Dr. Liesbeth Enneking (private law), Prof. François Kristen (criminal law), Anne-Jetske Schaap (criminal law), Prof. Cedric Ryngaert (international law), and Lucas Roorda (international law).